Rustdesk server on scale

NugentS

MVP
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
2,947
You can't unless you can find a container.
You can install a VM and install rustdesk on that
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,700
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
40
Well call me a bit of a noob, I don't know how to install in a container I have looked at a lot of things, but I also don't want to screw up the truenas scale system by installing it incorrectly.

I was hoping someone else had already installed it and had some commands on how to do it.
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,700
OK, so after a bit of messing around trying to get the simplest of containers started with the Launch Docker Image button, I've had it with that crap.

The best way I can see to run it is to launch the docker-compose app from TrueCommand (I mention how to do that here: https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/separate-linux-container.102153/post-703773)

Then you connect to portainer at your.scale.IP:9000 and get to the local "Stacks" page, then Add a stack.

Paste the docker compose example from https://rustdesk.com/docs/en/self-host/install/ and change the example.com part to your IP address or FQDN you have set up.

Name and deploy the stack.

Done. You're ready to point your clients at it.
 

NugentS

MVP
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
2,947
Thats one way. The other is to launch a docker image using the launch docker image button
 

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2016
Messages
9,700
launch a docker image using the launch docker image button
I could get the hbbr container to start that way, but the hbbs container kept stalling (remaining in deploying state) and wasn't logging anything meaningful, so I finally gave up on that method... happy to see the tip to get it to work if somebody figures that out.
 

victort

Guru
Joined
Dec 31, 2021
Messages
973
Would be interesting to see this implemented in Truecharts. I’m actually running a server in a jail, but with the newly updated pro server, I’m wondering if they will add that as a FreeBSD port as well.
 

victort

Guru
Joined
Dec 31, 2021
Messages
973
So, I just got this all working. Here are the steps. You will need to use the TrueCharts "custom-app" application to do this, and not the launch docker image. You will also need to create two instances of the "custom-app", one for the hbbr and one for the hbbs.

hbbs container
Container Repository=rustdesk/rustdesk-server-pro
Container Tag=latest
Uncheck "Enable WebUI Portal" (or configure it to use port 21114 when clicked)
Enable "Show Advanced Settings" under "Containers" the Add Command hbbs
Disable Probes (not sure if this is necessary)
Leave Load Balancer at Expose Ports
For the Service Port you can do "Port Type"=tcp and 21114:21114
Then add 4 more ports. 21115:21115 21116:21116 21116:21116/udp 21118:21118
Add App Storage=PVC Mount Path=/root
Hit Save

hbbr container
Container Repo=rustdesk/rustdesk-server-pro
Tag=latest
Disable WebUI Portal
Enable advanced settings and add Command=hbbr
Disable Probes (not sure if this is necessary)
Leave Load Balancer at Expose Ports
For the Service Port you can do type=tcp and ports 21117:21117
Then add 1 more port. 21119:21119
Add App Storage=PVC Mount Path=/root
Hit Save

I have not tested with HostPath storage.
Adding the Storage was the key in getting the hbbs container to start

If you want to just run the open source version of the server then change the repo to “rustdesk/rustdesk-server” use command “hbbs -r 192.168.x.x:21117” for the hbbs container and leave port 21114 out of the mix.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
40
Ok I tried what you typed there. The hbbr is active. waiting for hbbs to deploy. How do i log into this thing or whatever.
tried my server address :21114 nothing..
 

aliis.jh

Cadet
Joined
Aug 2, 2023
Messages
2
@victort Thanks for the instructions, they worked great!! Two issues I'm still running into:
1. After deployment, I'm unable to "verify" my RustDesk pro license. Support thinks it may be due to no WAN/internet access from inside container. I can connect to the container via WebUI IP/port just fine, but I'm not sure how to check external connectivity (container has no ping, IP, etc utils)
2. I'm not sure if this is even a problem, but it appears the container is "read only". I discovered this when trying to install the ping utility in the container to test for WAN connectivity.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
40
I was wondering if there was a more dumb install procedure that explained it well enough for me to install it, and it work. Every step
 

victort

Guru
Joined
Dec 31, 2021
Messages
973
@victort Thanks for the instructions, they worked great!! Two issues I'm still running into:
1. After deployment, I'm unable to "verify" my RustDesk pro license. Support thinks it may be due to no WAN/internet access from inside container. I can connect to the container via WebUI IP/port just fine, but I'm not sure how to check external connectivity (container has no ping, IP, etc utils)
2. I'm not sure if this is even a problem, but it appears the container is "read only". I discovered this when trying to install the ping utility in the container to test for WAN connectivity.
I’m not sure, but it sounds like a network issue on the main server. Is your DNS and Nameserver set correctly.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
40
I'll have a look at my install after work today. One unit boots up no problem, but the other unit does not. I wonder if I have the ports correct or not. That seems to be what I am confused about trying to install the program
 

aliis.jh

Cadet
Joined
Aug 2, 2023
Messages
2
I’m not sure, but it sounds like a network issue on the main server. Is your DNS and Nameserver set correctly.
That would be weird though right, since it was able to pull the container images from Docker Hub... I can also nc to websites (using domain/DNS) and get HTML responses without issue...
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2015
Messages
40
[EFAULT] Failed to update chart release: Error: UPGRADE FAILED: failed to create patch: The order in patch list: [map[name:tcp4 port:21115] map[name:upd6 port:21116] map[name:tcp5 port:21116] map[name:udp7 port:21118]] doesn't match $setElementOrder list: [map[port:21114] map[port:21115] map[port:21116] map[port:21118] map[port:21116]] && failed to create patch: The order in patch list: [map[containerPort:21114 hostPort: name:main protocol:TCP] map[containerPort:21115 hostPort: name:tcp4 protocol:TCP] map[containerPort:21116 hostPort: name:upd6 protocol:UDP] map[containerPort:21116 hostPort: name:tcp5 protocol:TCP] map[containerPort:21118 hostPort: name:udp7 protocol:UDP]] doesn't match $setElementOrder list: [map[containerPort:21114] map[containerPort:21115] map[containerPort:21116] map[containerPort:21118] map[containerPort:21116]]

I get this when Trying to save the hbbs-container
 
Top